Saturday, May 14, 2011




In Post.1, we have seen an analysis of West Bengal and Tamilnadu Election results. Now here are the rest.


Despite the presence of V.S. Achutanandan of LDF and Oomen chandy of  UDF – we can not say = that Kerala had leaders of the energy of Miss Mamata Banerjee of West Bengal of Ms.JJ of Tamilnadu.

The Left Front (LDF)combine won 68 seats, and the Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) won 72 seats in the 140-member assembly.

Very significantly - 11 ministers of the Kerala cabinet won the polls and 3 lost.

In the UDF, Congress has won 38 seats, the Indian Union Muslim League 20, the Kerala Congress (M) nine, the Socialist Janata (Democratic) 2, and the Kerala Congress (B), the Kerala Congress (Jacob) and the RSP (Bolshevik) one each

In the LDF - CPI(M) is the single largest party with 45 seats in the House. CPI has won 13 seats, Janata Dal (Secular) 4 ;and  RSP, the Nationalist Congress Party and LDF-backed independents 2 each. In the outgoing House, the LDF had 98 seats to the UDF's 42. Now LDF has  68 against UDF’s 72.

The 2 coalitions are separated by just about 1,68,520 votes – which is a very narrow margin, for the winning side.

The left front hasn’t done any good to itself by not treating a senior leader like Achuthanandan, with the respect he deserved, for some time before elections, and in the process, harming itself. Oommen Chandy may be the new UDF CM. But, for how long – is an interesting question.

While there is no great anti-incumbency wave against LDF, there is also no clear preference for the Kerala voter.  Significantly – LDF could not cash on the 2G, CWG, Adarsh and other scams that have hit the UPA.

If UDF performs well – it can walk away with the trophy for some time. Will UDF do that – or just be politicking with LDF for 5 years – this is what the Kerala voter must bother about now.


Assam has gone the way of Congress this time.

The ruling Congress has scored a hat-trick, securing an absolute majority in the Assembly. It won 78 of the 126 seats, while its coalition partner, Bodoland People's Front (BPF), won 12 seats.

AGP has won only 10 seats, and BJP has won just five seats. The All-India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) has won 18 seats.

All the scams of the UPA government and its allies had no effect on the Assam Voter; the Opposition could not just cash on the same.

Tarun Gogoi is all set to become the second person, after the late Bimala Prasad Chalia, to become Chief Minister of Assam for the third consecutive term. 

Some one should tell us whether it is Gogoi’s personality that won the congress the elections; or the lack of charismatic personalities for the Opposition that lost them the Elections, or the inability of the opposition to project relevant issues effectively before the people? One reason perhaps is – keeping some peace with ULFA through talks.

But, sooner or later, the demand for development must come from the people of Assam.

I think we also need a more physical, economical and emotional integration of North East as a whole , with the rest of India – which must happen FAST. More employment opportunities can reduce the influence of violent outfits in the region.


Out of a total of 30 seats, 20 seats went to an ex-congress man-led front of NR CONGRESS+AIADMK Alliance, while DMK led front secured 9 and independents just 1.

Congratulations to all the winners in the Assembly Elections – from all the five states.

The people have trusted you and Entrusted you their Fate for Five Years. 

Please do not disregard that Trust. In five years - you all can create momentous history for your respective states - if - if only - you take such a strong will in your hands.  People of your state will ever remember you - if you do that.

Good Luck to all of you!

* * *  E  N  D  * * *

No comments:

Post a Comment